Industry News <Search  <Archives  <eBulletin  

March 27, 2020

Quality Building Award celebrates its landmark 10th edition

Quality Building Award (QBA) 2020 announces 25 award finalists in recognizing Hong Kong's high quality buildings. Now in its 10th edition, this iconic biennial award has just completed the final stage of the judging process. A record-high of 49 submissions over six award categories have been received, with 25 shortlisted as Finalists. Winners of the various categories will be announced on 19 June at the QBA 2020 Awards Presentation Ceremony at Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, where participants and industry leaders will be in attendance.
     Unlike previous years, the Quality Excellence Award winner will receive two trophies instead of one: the Quality Excellence Award trophy, and a newly-introduced “Excellence Cup” perpetual trophy. The Excellence Cup will have the winning projects' names engraved, and will be kept by the winning team until the next award commences in two years’ time. This ensures the winners’ accomplishments will be further immortalized as part of Hong Kong’s built environment legacy.
    “I am very pleased to announce that we’ve received a record-high of 49 submissions this year,” said Ir Peter Mok, Chairman of the QBA 2020 Organizing Committee. “We appreciate that amid changing times, an increasing number of built environment professionals are committed to transforming the community with heart and care. To celebrate this being QBA's 10th edition, we have also developed the Excellence Cup perpetual trophy to honour each year's Quality Excellence Award winner.”
     Mr Yu Tak Cheung, Chairman of Jury Panel, said: “QBA has always recognized and encouraged first-rate projects that help advance the built environment industry. Not only the local projects, we are delighted to see a noticeable increase in the number of submissions from projects outside Hong Kong. This reflects positively on Hong Kong’s status as world class city with high professional standards.“

QBA 2020 is jointly organized by nine professional organizations in Hong Kong (in alphabetical order):

The Hong Kong Construction Association
The Hong Kong Institute of Architects
The Hong Kong Institute of Construction Managers
     The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers
     Building Division
     Building Services Division
     Structural Division
The Hong Kong Institute of Housing
The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors 
The Hong Kong Quality Assurance Agency (QBA 2020 Alternate Chair)
The Hong Kong Chapter of International Facility Management Association
The Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong

The Quality Building Award (QBA) celebrates its landmark tenth edition in 2020. Co-founded in 2002 by nine of Hong Kong's leading professional institutions, the ceremony has been held biennially ever since, and was quickly established as the one of the property sector's most coveted honours. Since its inception, QBA has celebrated and offered public recognition to buildings that embody excellence. Quality Building Award 2020, with the theme “Transforming Communities‧Build with Heart and Care”, provides an invaluable opportunity for professionals to be celebrated for working holistically within the communities they serve. The award presentation recognizes the highest quality building projects and promotes the advancement of Hong Kong’s building industry – the cornerstone of the metropolis that transformed it into Asia's renowned world city.


Contact QBA 2020

Copyright © All rights reserved.